For those of us that hate sewing….

I don’t actually hate sewing in general. I love my sewing machine. It’s nothing fancy, but I used to sew a lot with it.

What I do kinda loathe, as far as sewing goes, is sewing different pieces of amigurumi together. Eyes and arms are always askew. No matter how much time I spend placing them, how many straight pins, or bobby pins, or safety pins I have in the darn things, they are always off. I have, on many occasions, taken off and tried to re-place the crooked extremities, but they never seem to get any straighter.

All that being said, I believe I mentioned that my Tiny one will be a year old on Wednesday. He has more toys than we have space for, but what kind of parents would we be if we didn’t get him anything? I may have also mentioned that he loves anything I make. It’s like he’s got mommy-made radar. My ruffled scarf, anything I crochet, even the cloth ball I made to put into hats when I take pictures of them (that’s his favorite right now, so I guess it’s good I’m not needing it for hat pictures, lol). So I’m making him the dinosaur I posted a picture of in a previous post.

So, back to the sewing. The thought of a dinosaur was a bit daunting, with the head/neck, body, tail and four feet that needed sewing. And that’s not to include any horns, spikes, spots, etc, that I might want to add.. So I am working on a “Low-Sew Dino” pattern. I have currently finished all of the bulky parts except the tail, and I’m really excited about this!! IMAG1573 IMAG1574 So far, the only sewing I’ve done has been to sew the neck onto the body!!

 

My goal is to make this a multi-pattern, pattern. The base of the dino is pretty plain. The idea is that he is cute as is (once he has a tail), or easily customizable to make different kinds of dinos. Another thing that’s pretty exciting is that it’s a toy we can make for our boys. It’s so hard to find cute patterns for boys, and I’m really happy to work on this one!! This, of course, can be modified for our girls, too.

I have some modifications I’d like to make, like making his neck a bit shorter. And I would like to add in a good variety of custom elements. It will probably be the end of next week when I have it tested, but definitely keep an eye out fora pattern this adorable little guy!!

Leave a Reply

